Old 06 October 2015, 11:24   #1

Town: Swansea
Make: HydroForce Nav Rapid
Length: under 3m
Engine: Johnson 4hp MY2000
2 stroke shut off procedure

As a total newbie I’ve been trawling this forum and googling to find the proper shut down procedure for a 2 stroke but have found conflicting information. I have been prompted to look into after I ran the outboard (Johnson 4hp MY2000) in a test tank for around 15 mins, I lifted (tilted) the shaft to its highest point and left it for a few minutes. After removing the test tank I dropped the shaft back to normal, there was a strong smell of fuel and on inspection I found fuel dripping from the case. After removing the lower case and wiping up the leaked fuel, I could not find an obvious source but the carb throat was very wet. Would I be correct in thinking that the fuel in the float chamber could seep through and then out of the carb throat?
I had shut off by pulling the kill-switch cord and shutting of the fuel, is this the correct procedure or should the fuel be turned off and engine run until the fuel in carb has been used?
Old 06 October 2015, 11:46   #2

i always store my 2 strokes dry.

i.e run the fuel out them completely and store, if for a long time a wee bit of fogging oil down the plug hole too.

the fuel from the carb could be you tilted it too far or stuck float or just residual fuel in the carb that wasn't burnt off.

shut off during normal use there is sometimes a button on the engine (usually where the kill cord goes in you push that to kill it). failing that just pull the kill cord.

HTH
Old 06 October 2015, 12:05   #3
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819