Old 16 April 2013, 19:35   #1

Length: no boat
Engine: 135Hp 2stroke
MMSI: 3596
1998 Yamaha VMax 150 TRP

1998 Yamaha VMax 150 TRP
Been looking at a Rib with this motor on, is a 98/99 model a bit old now or do theses motors have a good reputation? What should I look out for and anyone has a idea how much one is worth, it has low hrs and has been on one boat from new that was used for sunbathing
Old 16 April 2013, 20:53   #2

Town: bedford
Make: tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard 60hp merc
hi. Regarding this particular motor I have no experience of but my dive club rib has a 94 Yam 115 2Stroke, which is an excellent engine. It has given no trouble at all over all the years we have had it and last sunday after seating in a barn since November, I serviced the engine and primed the bulb and after about two turns of the flywheel the engine fired and ran smooth as silk.

Provided you do all the neccessary checks, compression, visual, water test etc I wouldn't let the age put you off as ours is in A1 condition and almost 20 yrs old now.

As I did hear that they are shortly stopping making them perhaps they will start appreciating in value from now on.

ps. I did live on the Isle of fun for a few years back in the early 90s.

Good luck Dave
Old 16 April 2013, 21:09   #3
RIBnet admin team

Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: Dominator
Make: SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 85
MMSI: 235055163
RIBase
That's a rare one-I've only ever seen one of those duoprop Yamahas.
Yams are generally pretty reliable, but a carbed 150 will be thirsty. Finding props could be interesting as well.

Might be worth having a chat with a Yamaha mechanic about the gearboxes.

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2013, 21:11   #4

Town: balzan
Boat name: ranieri
Make: ranieri
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard 140hp