Old 23 September 2008, 21:36   #1

Town: Gothenburg
Make: Nimbus 26 Nova
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo Penta D4-260
Buying a Charter RIB

Hello all!

I've been working in the RIB Charter business for two years now, this has generated a huge amount of experince of different Charter RIBs, Parker 900's, Ring Powercraft's and others. I'm now looking into buying a RIB for my own business and I've narrowed the selection down to a Ring or the Parker 900RS.

Both are great imo but with slight different behaviour's. In Sweden, the practical limit due to law is 12 passangers and two skippers.

When considering the Parker 900RS I'm looking into dual Suzuki DF300's, should push performance beyond 60 knots with correct rigg and prop's. Could the boat fit Yamaha 350 V8's?

The Ring I have driven was the 9.5M with tripple Suzuki DF250's, something that seem a little to heavy for the boat. Performance, however, was great! 65+ knot's with 12 passengers was possible. But I don't like the behaviour of tripple installations with two props spinning counter clock wize and one clock wize. What performance could you expect with dual DF300's? Yamaha V8's?

There's a catch on using other engines than Suzuki in Sweden because they, Suzuki, provide excellent warrantys on their engines for charter use and henche the majority of all charter rib's in sweden use Suzuki engines. I've also witnessed several Verado 275's break down and that makes me question if they're suitable for charter use, has the new 300 modell improved on reliability? What about the 350 Verado? I love any inline 6 cylinder engine and the supercharger gives exellent tourqe throughout the entire register.

Any thought or comment is welcome!

/Alpina
Old 23 September 2008, 22:22   #2

Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Hi and welcome!