Old 21 February 2008, 18:48   #1

Town: Weymouth
Length: no boat
boatmaster Licences

Why is the new system so complicated and unworkable? Has anybody who holds an old one applied for a new licence yet?

If so what Level were you in the old system and what are you now in the new system.

I am, (and several Skippers I work with)revalidating and being told lots of different things by the MCA and I am totally confused.

DAmian
Old 21 February 2008, 19:17   #2

Town: Midlands
Boat name: SR4.7
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 60 EFI
RIBase
I did my boatmasters last year through the new system and it was a nightmare. Was required to do loads more stuff than if I'd done it the previous year! A lot of it wasn't even relevant to the work I do!

I can't remember the situation with renewing the licences, but I know some of the other skippers I work with had alot of trouble with the MCA loosing they're new licences and details.
Old 21 February 2008, 19:58   #3

Town: Alderney
I cannot comment first hand, but there are a couple of Scuttlebut members in a similar situation and so I have duplicated your post on there. I hope that is ok.

http://www.scuttlebut.org/forum/showthread.php?tid=56
Old 22 February 2008, 05:15   #4

Town: Oban (mostly)
Make: Ribcraft, Humber,BWM
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboards
Send a message via Skype™ to SeaSkills
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobbit555 View Post
Why is the new system so complicated and unworkable?
I think that a big part of the confusion is still because it's new and bedding in. On paper it does look complicated (but generally sensible), and my guess is that with a bit of time and experience it will fall into place.

(We've decided not to train BML until things settle down - too many unanswered questions at the moment. I appreciate you don't have that freedom to choose)
Tel; 07525 012 013
SeaSkills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 February 2008, 21:17   #5

Town: Southampton
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 200 HP