Old 13 June 2021, 10:23   #1

Town: Aberdeenshire
Length: no boat
Harbour Etiquette

As a complete novice, are there any words of wisdom and basic advice for the main do’s and don’ts when launching/landing in a harbour/beach area.

Having witnessed the inexperience, ignorance, rudeness and downright dangerous behaviours of Seagoers (of all sorts) this weekend while scouting quiet launch areas for the sib around harbours, I really got my eyes opened

Very early morning start with suitable conditions will be a must to avoid the crowds going by how busy everywhere is already. Its not even main holiday time up here, but never seen the places so busy.

Great for the tourist industry, not so good for us beginners trying to find somewhere quiet to make our mistakes without a thousand eyes watching us
Bring on the opening up of all foreign tourist destinations
Old 13 June 2021, 10:42   #2
RIBnet supporter

Town: Cowes
Boat name: Clear Dawn
Make: Cormate
Length: 7m +
Engine: Verado 200
MMSI: 235924981
Do a RYA pb2 course, it's very interesting and good fun. It doesn't specifically cover launching and recovery but it does give a good grounding in boat handling.
Then if you're not used to it - find somewhere quiet and do loads of reversing with a trailer!
Old 13 June 2021, 13:47   #3

Town: Appley Bridge
Boat name: RedNeck
Make: Excel SD360
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury EFI 20HP
MMSI: 235924407
Hi Brian, along with doing a RYA PB2 course, my advice would be to go away for the weekend, if you can, to any of the freshwater Lochs where you can use an OB. Being a complete novice you will want all the time and space to practice and make the silly mistakes we all have made. You won't have as many eyes on you, no tide and or waves to contend with, you can run your OB in over a weekend and importantly you will gain much needed water experience before moving to the sea.
Old 13 June 2021, 16:16   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819