Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Other stuff
Click Here to Login

Old 07 November 2005, 17:31   #1

Length: 6m +
4x4 Advice - Hilux Surfs, Isuzu Troopers, Nissan Patrols

Hi all!

There seems to be a huuge amount of 4x4 knowledge on this forum, so I'm hoping with the wealth of experience contained, I can make an informed decision when I've eventually saved enough to change my car!

I currently drive a Kia Sportage, and whilst I enjoy the 2.0 petrol engine, the car isn't big enough, doesn't have enough torque to tow big things, and is a gay colour! I would like a big 4x4, that I can fit 5 people, all their sailing gear, and all the boat kit, and tow a double (sometimes triple) dinghy stack trailer with, as well as of course ribs.

7 Seats is a huge advantage, as I got stopped 2 weekends ago for having more people than seats in the car.

I've narrowed down what I'm after to a 2.5l plus Diesel car, preferably turbo. Being as I am a poor student (I know, poor student looking at a 4x4!) I would like a reliable car that's low maintenance, and spares are readily available for. I do go off road every once in a while when I'm helping on army cadet camps (or fancy getting the kia stuck on Andy's paintball site!), so would like something with more ability than an X5!

However, as well as being a pretty good off road and towing car, I also need any 4x4 to be road car as well, IE I need to be able to bomb it back to Kent in relative comfort, so it has to have a reasonable interior. Ride is not a major factor, however something a bit softer on the motorway than a defender would be nice. I'd also like something that doesn't accelerate like a tank, not talking ferrari here, just not a sloth. I'd also rather not buy anything older than 1995.