Old 11 May 2004, 19:31   #1

Town: London
Boat name: varies
Make: n/a
Length: n/a
Engine: varies
Single outdrive, any differences from single o/b? Advice

Hello all,

I am new to this, it has taken me quite a while to work out how to post!

I have viewed the forums, with interest, for a while as a guest, but have finally decided to register (still don't trust this internet thingie).

I have a question that the varied operators of RIBs of all configurations may be able to assist with.

I have experience of single (115hp) and twin o/b (x2 50hp) set ups, a dory and rib respectively. During close quarter manoevouring these are different, but easily managable. If pushed, I prefer twins.

I am just about to make the switch to a alumiunium RBB with inboard 1.7 Mercruiser (which thankfully seems popular and good). WHOOPS pushed something and posted accidently there I'll continue....

diesel that will drive mercruiser Alpha leg. This is where I know nothing. How similar are outdrive to outboards. The application is for estuarine waters, beaching frequently, and with sustantially amounts of debris floating about on springs.

We run S/s props and generally are pretty good at dodging the big stuff, but clearing the prop mid channel is normal. So can I trim an outdrive out and fiddle about with it at anchor, like an out board?

Also, while I'm here is the slow speed handling likely to be the same with a diesel o/d, or is it gonna be props? Have had bad experience of big prop 21" with 115hp Mercury at idle speed once! Supplier knew nothing, we ended up on 17"!

thx for any comments.

t
Old 11 May 2004, 20:12   #2

Town: Brixham, Devon
Boat name: FLY-BY/FLY-BY II
Make: Ribcraft/Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 175/Yamaha 30
Outboards & Outdrives

If you can handle a single outboard then you should be fine with a single outdrive.