Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 May 2015, 18:41   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 12
Zodiac 380 Help!

Hi All,

Looking forward to my new RIB purchase. Bought a 2006 yachtline 380 with a yamaha 40 HP knowing that the speedometer didn't work. Figuring I'm somewhat handy, I thought I could troubleshoot and replace. Previous owner said it worked and then just stopped. Tachometer still works fine. I am assuming it's either a loose connection, blown fuse, or the module itself.

Maybe I'm just too new to this game, but I figured the console would come up. I can't for the life of me access underneath the gauges through the glove box. It is just too tight in there for me to see what's going on. Everything is routed so neatly with zip ties. I can't even get a wrench on the bracket holding it in because the steering module is in the way. Is there a way to get under the console (hex nuts keep spinning) or do I have to go buy a mini socket to drop the bracket and go through the console that way? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
roons1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 08:14   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by roons1159 View Post
Hi All,

Looking forward to my new RIB purchase. Bought a 2006 yachtline 380 with a yamaha 40 HP knowing that the speedometer didn't work. Figuring I'm somewhat handy, I thought I could troubleshoot and replace. Previous owner said it worked and then just stopped. Tachometer still works fine. I am assuming it's either a loose connection, blown fuse, or the module itself.

Maybe I'm just too new to this game, but I figured the console would come up. I can't for the life of me access underneath the gauges through the glove box. It is just too tight in there for me to see what's going on. Everything is routed so neatly with zip ties. I can't even get a wrench on the bracket holding it in because the steering module is in the way. Is there a way to get under the console (hex nuts keep spinning) or do I have to go buy a mini socket to drop the bracket and go through the console that way? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Unbolt the helm to gain clearance?
__________________

__________________
Richard
Gluing geek since 2007
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 08:43   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 12
Thanks. That's what I tried. Hex bolts that look like it's holding it in keep spinning, and the back of the hex bolts are not accessible through the glove box.
__________________
roons1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 08:44   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: S. Carolina
Boat name: D560
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2016 Merc 115hp CT
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by roons1159 View Post
Thanks. That's what I tried. Hex bolts that look like it's holding it in keep spinning, and the back of the hex bolts are not accessible through the glove box.
Did you remove the steering wheel? There's some bolts on the face underneath the wheel.
__________________
Richard
Gluing geek since 2007
office888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 08:54   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 12
You are correct and I was going to do that, but again this being my first purchase I didn't want to do more damage. If that's the only way, I guess I'll have to. I was hoping there was something else I was missing.
__________________
roons1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 09:49   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 130hp
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 835
Before you rip the boat apart are you absolutley sure that's where the problem is. It's far more likely to be a blocked or broken pito on the front of the engine leg or the transom of the boat..... Has the tube just came off under the transom bracket?
__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 09:55   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 12
I am not 100% sure what the problem is, but if what you were talking about true don't you think there would be some indication on the speedometer? When I turn the key on, the tachometer illuminates, however the speedometer doesn't at all.
__________________
roons1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 10:12   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 130hp
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 835
If it's a digital speedo then yes I'd expect some kind of indication it's powered up, but generally they're nothing more than a pressure gauge with a tube running to the back of the boat either to a Pito mounted at the bottom of the transom (basically a hard plastic tube with a hole facing forward) or this is often built into the engine leg, again just a small hole facing forward below the cavitation plate with the tube leading up from it under the engine's transom bracket......worth a look?
__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 10:14   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 12
I will absolutely take a look thanks. I'll also add that this is used for the fuel indicator as well and that's not powering up either. Traced the wire back to the tank and that looks fine.
__________________
roons1159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2015, 11:11   #10
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Need to figure out what drives the speedo (digitally driven or pressure.)

Is there a plastic or rubber tube, about 1/4" diameter (maybe slightly larger), bundled with the wires going into the console? If so, it's pressure driven. The pressure is derived from a small hole in the front edge of the lower unit. As you move forward, water gets forced in the hole, pressurizing the air in the tube, and that is read as speed and displayed accordingly. As Tango said, it's common for the pitot hole in the leg to become blocked; it's also not uncommon for the tubing to come apart at some point of the run (sucks when it''s off the back of the gauge, as you then have a small jet of seawater spurting into the console.)

If your gauges aren't getting power, I'd be looking at reseating connectors before doing anything else (especially if it's multiple gauges.)

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.