Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 08 June 2011, 20:06   #1

Town: Toronto
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 1981 Johnson 35HP
[Yikes] Transom Separating From Pontoons!

Hi Guys,

I recently purchased my first boat - 2000 Zodiac Cadet 400 w/ old Johnson 35hp. I love it and am super pumped about owning my first RIB!

BUT, its gonna need a little TLC.

Here's the issue: the rubber that connects the transom with the pontoon has begun to peel. What am I looking for? Some honest opinions. I want to do the job myself. Why? I took it to local Zodiac repair shop and was quoted a minimum of $300. This seems a little steep for a critical yet straightforward glue job. I have read up the exact procedure and am thinking of taking a Sunday with a friend to do the job well. I am not a mechanic/repairman but am relatively quick off the draw.

Looking for any advice here: experience/recommendation. Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Zodiac Transom.jpg
Views:	1245
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	60007   Click image for larger version

Name:	backseat.PNG
Views:	557
Size:	197.8 KB
ID:	60008  
Old 08 June 2011, 22:47   #2

Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Windsor Brothers
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 225
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
You should be able to do it yourself with some good quality two part glue.

The key as always is in the preparation, and I'd suggest you spend a bit of time reading the many posts about gluing technique you'll find on here if you use the search function.

I'm sure with a bit of research and common sense you'll have a go and get the rewarding experiance of having repaired it yourself.

Good luck

Nasher.
Old 09 June 2011, 11:35   #3

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Welcome!