Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 March 2012, 15:50   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Birchington
Boat name: Moneypenny
Make: Avon SR 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 90
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 182
Yamaha remotes

Hi

I have an 85hp yamaha with yamaha 703 remotes which seem very stiff and the friction screw doesn't seem to be doing anything.

The cables coming from the controller seem to be slightly bulged with rust coming through in places, which makes me think that the outer sheathing is rusting and expanding onto the inner cable.

Can I just change the cables or do I need to replace the whole unit?

Any views would be appreciated

Woody
__________________

__________________
woody73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2012, 15:59   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
when they are in that condition ....change the cables... Simples!!

take the 703 remote off ,, undo the 2 countersunk philips screws. take off the long plate. take a quick mental note of how it all goes back. remember, when moving the lever, the gear is the first arm to move.
Take off the circlips for each cable and remove.
Whilst the cover is off, get some marine waterprof grease and lube the sliders and alloy channels inside.
whilst the cables are off, try the lever, it should be easy and slick to operate..
Good luck
__________________

__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2012, 16:54   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Birchington
Boat name: Moneypenny
Make: Avon SR 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 90
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
when they are in that condition ....change the cables... Simples!!

take the 703 remote off ,, undo the 2 countersunk philips screws. take off the long plate. take a quick mental note of how it all goes back. remember, when moving the lever, the gear is the first arm to move.
Take off the circlips for each cable and remove.
Whilst the cover is off, get some marine waterprof grease and lube the sliders and alloy channels inside.
whilst the cables are off, try the lever, it should be easy and slick to operate..
Good luck
Thanks Matt

Any ideas on where the most likely place to source the cables from?
__________________
woody73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2012, 17:51   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by woody73 View Post
Thanks Matt

Any ideas on where the most likely place to source the cables from?
Unless you can read the numbers on the cables,going to your nearest Yamaha dealer with the old ones is your best bet to match them up.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 March 2012, 07:23   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
or any random cable selling chandler if you have the old ones with you.

(they take standard morse type cables)
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 March 2012, 16:39   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Generic '33C' cables. The length should be stamped on them, near the end.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 March 2012, 18:13   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Birchington
Boat name: Moneypenny
Make: Avon SR 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 90
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Unless you can read the numbers on the cables,going to your nearest Yamaha dealer with the old ones is your best bet to match them up.
Thanks for your response guys, I have done a little research since sending this post and it seems 703 remote cables are still readily available but they do a standard and a premium cable which is more than twice the price. does anyone know whether its worth shelling out for the more expensive ones as if it makes throttling much smoother I could see the benefit.
__________________
woody73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 March 2012, 18:23   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Premium cables tend to be specified if you have any tight radius bends in the installation.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2012, 09:29   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hedge End
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
premium all the time, or Teleflex Extreme. Or you will have the same problems in 2 or 3 years time.
__________________
Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 March 2012, 10:16   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
EH?

My "standard" cables are now 5 (6?) years old and no problems.......
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.