Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 July 2014, 13:34   #1
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,292
Wireless Networking On Ribs

Anyone know of any wireless networking device you can fit to a rib which is good enouth to pick up wireless signals from shore, or is the point most shorebased wireless only works if your really close like in a marina.

whats longest distance normal wirles signals reach and what distance if land station has a booster. ?

im talking wireless networking rather than mobile telephony.
__________________

__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2014, 13:51   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 225
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 977
Not very much range. Better to use 3/4g unless you want to go sat type comms.
__________________

__________________
Starovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2014, 17:13   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Orpington and Lymington
Boat name: Minxy
Make: Avon Adventurer 5.6
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Merc Mariner
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 154
I used to use one of these on my old static caravan Im not sure how this would / could work in a marine environment and what the maximum distance is!

http://www.tp-link.com/lk/products/d...del=TL-WA5210G

it allowed me to get access to a btwifi hotspot in the reception which was a good 300+ meters away



This little guide might be of use:

http://rv.dickeastman.com/2012/01/ho...em-part-1.html
__________________
gooner-paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 13:19   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Digital yacht claim up to 3NM with this: http://www.digitalyacht.co.uk/produc...ducts_id=11708

Would be really useful with a yacht I think, point it at the harbour cafe and away you go!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 13:34   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,250
Long range WiFi needs are yagi type antenna so it only works when pointed at a specific place. No good at 20kts. Even at anchor I suspect you'd get too much movement...

Better to use 3/4G if avail and if device doesn't have that to use hotspot locally to share it. My android phone can share 3g with others his WiFi... So my tablet which has no sim can connect.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 17:25   #6
Member
 
simonc2409's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Preston
Boat name: N/A
Make: Avon Searider 4M
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 25hp Yamaha
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
I use mobile data a lot and technology has moved on a little since Dick Eastman's guide in my view. I have an O2 3G router which I use all over the country along with the much faster EE 4G solution .

You can get these things on PAYG or PayMonthly contracts but be careful not to slip into the 'roaming data' trap if you use them in the channel.

I don't really know what the off shore range of these things is other than to say that the theoretical range of a 3G mast is 35Km. In practise there's a whole bunch of variables that can change that.

I've not used my routers at sea but our annual trip to the north coast is in a few weeks and I'll give them a go.
__________________
simonc2409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 17:56   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,250
I think three have a new deal that means roaming charges are waved in certain countries which may make it the better option for playing in the channel...
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 20:31   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam 225
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 977
best deal ive found is to buy 6gb data for 15 lasts 3 months and thats 4g (where avaialble otherwise 3g) EE Sim Card. after they run out I get a new one.
__________________
Starovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2014, 22:47   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Down South
Make: Northcraft 5.8m 1999
Length: 5m +
Engine: 2012 Tohatsu MD90C
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 179
When I'm out at different ports on the boat at work I use a ALFA NETWORK Inc.

Also been anchored off browndown beach (lee on solent) before and managed to pick up bt openzone on the shore. Must have been about a mile away from where we were.
__________________
Solent Bombard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 July 2014, 04:07   #10
Member
 
simonc2409's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Preston
Boat name: N/A
Make: Avon Searider 4M
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 25hp Yamaha
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solent Bombard View Post
When I'm out at different ports on the boat at work I use a ALFA NETWORK Inc.

Also been anchored off browndown beach (lee on solent) before and managed to pick up bt openzone on the shore. Must have been about a mile away from where we were.
It's the nature of UK 3G/4G networks I'm afraid. None of the providers have 100% coverage which is why I have two routers. One of them usually works when the other doesn't.
__________________

__________________
simonc2409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rib

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.