Old 05 April 2011, 23:43   #1

Length: no boat
Which RIB?

Hello guys.. apologies if i am posting this in the wrong forum, please feel free to move. I'm a potential new boat owner but come in search of advice. I am a local tour operator in West Africa and would like to offer some boat excursions and possibly fishing trips to my clients.

My mentor in the UK said I should check out Ribs and someone else mentioned Zodiacs. I have been doing some preliminary research but for a first-timer, It's a bit.. well.. confusing.

The problem is I really do not know where to start and what I should be getting. Following points are important to me.

• Must take at least 6 people excluding the capt, but would be interested to see boats with more capacity
• Must be able to dock right on to the shore, so no need for a jetty
• Please confirm if any special training is required for RIBs
• The water it will be used on can be choppy at times

Any advice and potential boats you can let me have a look at would be appreciated. Will prefer good second hand for cost reasons.

I'm hoping someone can help point me in the right direction of good, sturdy RIBs at affordable price.

Thank you in advance,

Abi
Old 06 April 2011, 09:29   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Abi,

Welcome to RIBnet.

Quote:
I'm a potential new boat owner but come in search of advice. I am a local tour operator in West Africa and would like to offer some boat excursions and possibly fishing trips to my clients.
You'll need a bigger boat to fit 6 people fishing than you would on an excursion.

Quote:
My mentor in the UK said I should check out Ribs and someone else mentioned Zodiacs. I have been doing some preliminary research but for a first-timer, It's a bit.. well.. confusing.