Old 17 October 2007, 17:19   #1

Town: Guernsey
Boat name: Genie
Make: Lema
Length: 6m +
Engine: inboard petrol 225hp
Which RIB?

Hello folks, newbie here so be gentle!
I'm sure that this question has been asked a zillion times but I couldn't find an FAQ button (apologies if I'm being short-sighted or if this causes a lot of eye rolling and 'oh no not another one!').

I am looking to sell my current boat, a 2007 22ft hardtop fisher/cruiser as I find it a bit of a handful to get in and out of a tight berth and my wife had an accident on board in which she nearly lost her thumb, so I need something very easy to berth in and out. Nice boat but after a season, not really my cup of tea.

Talking to a member of staff at the marina and he suggested a RIB - not something I had even thought of before, but an idea that is really beginning to appeal (great handling, lightweight, safe and superb visibility and movement about deck) plus if I end up 'nudging' other boats there is no problem with a nice soft tube bouncing off rather than scraping of expensive gelcoat.

He suggested a 6.5m with approx 100hp, but I would prefer around 150hp with hydraulic steering as we may occasionally zip across the 20 miles or so to Dielette in France.

I really like the appeal of easy to look after, easy to use plus of course the exhilaration of a decent turn of speed when conditions permit.

I will spend a fair bit of time fishing from it as well.

My budget will be up to 20k, maybe slightly more for the right one, but obviously if I can get a decent one for less than that would be a result too.