Old 04 November 2007, 09:17   #1

Town: Newmarket
Boat name: ELA
Make: METZELER
Length: 4m +
Engine: 20 Suzuki
What's better

What’s better a Rib that sponson's “tubes” touch the water or one that the sponson's are out of the water.
Old 04 November 2007, 09:45   #2

Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Here we go. A classic poser for a classic RIBNET answer. This could be a long post.
Old 04 November 2007, 12:47   #3

basic questions

Sorry don’t know what a Poser is but if this has been brought up couple of times I am new to Ribs and just trying to get educated with these boats.
Ribs have just started taking off hear in Ontario, Canada and is growing quite fast, the Zodiac dealer around here has doubled his sales in just one year. Why not they are light weight and I can pull mine (12’ metzeler) with a small Echo like it’s not even there. I was out fishing the other day and the 12-14 aluminum boats were heading in but I still felt quite save in my rib. My little 20 hp really moves this small boat and I get stopped almost every time I’m out and asked questions about it. It’s getting to the point I may be looking at opening a inflatable boat section in my friends marina.
Anyways that’s why I ask the basic questions
Old 04 November 2007, 13:16   #4

Hi,

Not trying to be difficult. But I feel this is a subject that will cause a fair bit of discussion.

Personally I prefer the boats with tubes that touch the water when at rest. All the boats I have owned have been like that. It makes for a stable platform when at rest. Some boats I tie up to have their tubes a fair way out of the water and they seem to tip quite a lot depending on where the most weight is. I'm not sure what the advantage of that design is but I'm sure someone will be on here to tell us.
Old 04 November 2007, 17:17   #5

Correct me if I'm wrong.