Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 October 2009, 12:38   #1
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sunshine Coast, Aus.
Boat name: Rubber Dolly
Make: Ribtec 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury F115 Efi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 87
What size Donkey Engine on a 5.8 Rib?

Would really like to grab a backup motor for my boat. In order to get something that actually moves it enough to get me home, can anyone advise me what size motor would suit?

Cheers
__________________

__________________
http://www.level-eleven.com.au
HoveRuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 12:54   #2
Member
 
chewy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Up Norf
Make: Avon SR4,Tremlett 23
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam 55, Volvo 200
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,217
15hp would do, are you leaving it mounted on the transom?
__________________

__________________
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 12:55   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Coast
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,445
I think you will need 6HP minimum, to give you some headway and therefore steerage.

As a stand by, the make will depend on your budget or what is available. Most are very reliable these days. As it is now end of season, there should be some good bargains to be had if you haggle
__________________
250kts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 12:59   #4
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sunshine Coast, Aus.
Boat name: Rubber Dolly
Make: Ribtec 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury F115 Efi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
15hp would do, are you leaving it mounted on the transom?
Thats the plan. Thats a big lump tho isn't it?
__________________
http://www.level-eleven.com.au
HoveRuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 13:06   #5
Member
 
chewy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Up Norf
Make: Avon SR4,Tremlett 23
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam 55, Volvo 200
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,217
Yep, depends how fast you want to go though?
__________________
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 14:23   #6
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Sunshine Coast, Aus.
Boat name: Rubber Dolly
Make: Ribtec 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury F115 Efi
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 87
Fair comment!
__________________
http://www.level-eleven.com.au
HoveRuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 14:37   #7
J S
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: N.Wales/Southampton
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda 15hp
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 449
you would only ever go so fast with an aux engine due to the displacement speed of the hull. so a 40hp aux wouldnt be any faster than a 15hp one it would just make more noise and wash.

James
__________________
JG Marine Services
J S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 14:42   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by J S View Post
you would only ever go so fast with an aux engine due to the displacement speed of the hull. so a 40hp aux wouldnt be any faster than a 15hp one it would just make more noise and wash.

James
I'd expect a 40HP on a 5.8m boat to get on the plane with the right prop...
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 14:45   #9
J S
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: N.Wales/Southampton
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda 15hp
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
I'd expect a 40HP on a 5.8m boat to get on the plane with the right prop...
Yes i was maybe exaggerating a little, but where it would be mounted the prop would probably end up out of the water when planing.

James
__________________
JG Marine Services
J S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2009, 16:50   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Aux's

I had a 4hp Yamaha Longshaft on my old 5.25 Viper. I sourced a lower pitch prop for it and managed to get about 4knots sometimes 5. It was enough to get you way from trouble if the main cuts out near some rocks but it would be a long ride home

I kept mine mounted directly on the transom which is the best place for it (don't like the brackets), however do make sure you maintain it as its going to get wet every time you go out even if you dont use it and you will also need to improvise a way to secure it well as the saddle barckets on the smaller engine don't take much of a pounding.

Having an internal fuel tank is handy as when you want an aux its generally going to be in a hurry, so hooking up a fuel tank and trying to measure oil into a jerry can when you are in an F6 200 yards from the breakers is not a great situation to be in

I always made it a habit to run mine at least every other journey to make sure it was going to work when I needed it to.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.