Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 September 2004, 05:49   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
What Anchor ?

Morning all,
I am having trouble finding a good way to store the anchor in a safe and ready to use place. The boat came with a Danforth anchor that was lose on deck. I have put it in a plastic box but with the boat being narrow and two fuel tanks up front space is low and it is restricting access to the bow area. Has anyone had problem like this or found a good solution to anchor storage or can recommend better kit. I have seen a grapel folding kit but don’t think it will be strong enough.
Thanks for reading this.
__________________

__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 05:59   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Have a look at.......

.......www.westmarine.com

If you look up anchors you'll find a number of ideas for staorge including brackets, bags and pretty pictures of the same. Further this co are cheap and very quick to deliver to the u.k. I 've used them several times.
__________________

__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 06:16   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
I have bought a danforth and a bruce - the danforth will be easy to stow but the points seem a bit sharp - worried about catching the bow when recovering - or am I just being too cautious?
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 06:21   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chelmsford/Anglesey
Make: Avon SR/RibLite 3.1m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda 30hp/Yam 8hp
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 970
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn
I have bought a danforth and a bruce - the danforth will be easy to stow but the points seem a bit sharp - worried about catching the bow when recovering - or am I just being too cautious?
I'd say you're being extraordinarily cautious considering you don't have a RIB
__________________
Phil Davies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 06:21   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: nr Lymington
Boat name: JU-JU
Make: Halmatic PAC22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140.5 Mermaid
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,400
You could consider a different anchor which would take up less room, Danforth are good but OTT If you are only using the anchor just while you are having a cup of tea or going for a swim.
I have a Folding Grapnel (http://www.gaelforce.net/megastore/megastore2.asp) and a CQR (yes MeMe I know too many bits and bobs) I use the grapnel all the time and the CQR only if Iím leaving the boat over night somewhere other than on the mooring. Des
__________________
Scary Des is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 06:52   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Pot - Kettle and all that........

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Davies
I'd say you're being extraordinarily cautious considering you don't have a RIB
........you can talk. You've got the biggest bloody anchor I've ever seen especially when considering your ride is only a poxy 4 mtr searider. I'd have though you could manage on an one of those key fob type brass thingys.
__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 07:12   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Thanks all.

[QUOTE=Scary Des
I have a Folding Grapnel ([url]http://www.gaelforce.net/megastore/megastore2.asp[/url]) and a CQR I use the grapnel all the time and the CQR only if I’m leaving the boat over night somewhere other than on the mooring.

Des do you have a chain on the Grapnel i can't access all the details on the site. I had hoped someone was useing one of them as i had seen one at toesure site but did not think it would be up to the job. As you say it would only be for short stops and emergency use and think its the solution i want/need. I will give GF a call later but if anyone else has experance of them feedback welcome.
__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 07:34   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: nr Lymington
Boat name: JU-JU
Make: Halmatic PAC22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140.5 Mermaid
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal

Des do you have a chain on the Grapnel .............
Yes about 3 mtrs of chain, it is essential to get the stock of the anchor on the sea bed so that you get a near horizontal pull as opposed to a 45deg. I have seen people using a weight a few mtrs up the anchor rope to achieve the same effect. Nelson would use cannon, so if you have one on board try that . Des
__________________
Scary Des is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 07:43   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Length: no boat
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 378
Neal have you ran a search on Anchors? There's lots of info here already, like this one. Advice on anchors please

Mine is only a 4Kg grapnel with a long chain but has only failed in poor conditions (strong currents or windy). I plan to get a heavier one and I certainly wouldn't trust it overnight.
__________________
Rich L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2004, 07:44   #10
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
Neal
I have a Danforth style anchor, works very well, with 5 M of chain!
If I was to buy again I would go for Bruce type as I have a small one for my tender which works very well with out chain!
I also have a large Grapnel which is OK BUT kneads 10 M of chain to do the same job as the Danforth.

"As you say it would only be for short stops and emergency use and think its the "

In an emergency you want something that is going to do its job!
Nick
__________________

__________________
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.