Old 05 November 2002, 15:55   #1
Ben

Town: London
Make: Coastline
Length: 6.5
Engine: outboard/petrol, 130hp
Viking and Narwhal Ribs

Bit of a newbie here but was wondering if anyone had any experience of the above companies.
My first Rib is now three months old and has got defects in that the gel coat has blistered and I am having big problems getting it sorted out. Supplier blaming the manufacturer, based in Spain.
Old 05 November 2002, 19:12   #2
TIM

Town: Dublin
Boat name: WIZARD
Make: REDBAY 7.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: OPTI 225
If you bought the boat new, its the suppliers problem as the sales contract is between you and them,and not the manufacturer in Spain, I would give them hell, as Ribs are not cheap.....
Old 05 November 2002, 19:56   #3

Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Absolutely - the contract is with the retailer not the manufacturer. If he won't do the honourable thing then you may need to sue to enforce your rights but you will need a independent witness as to the problem and its cause. Someone on here will surely know an expert who you could use IF it comes to that - but don't let it rest - best of luck with it!
Old 05 November 2002, 21:37   #4

Make: FB 55
Length: 10m +
Here's a thought..you walk in to B & Q, purchase a Black and Decker drill and after a month the damned thing packs up. You take it back to B & Q don't you?? I would get a surveyor to verify the problem, write a short report and present it to the company who supplied the rib to you. The onus is on THEM to sort you out and then they can take it up with the supplier or whoever else they need to. A small word of cautionary advice, be civil and polite, yet firm.
oh yes, and Good luck!
Old 06 November 2002, 06:09   #5

Town: Hilton-of-Cadboll
Length: no boat