Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 October 2011, 17:47   #1
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Transducer cable

Hi all, i need to put a new garmin fishfinder on the rib, the power cable & transducer cable are all in one & connected to a one inch plug that go,s in the back of the unit, i need to get the plug though the duct at the transom to the console,i haven't tried it yet,butt i don,t think it will go though with the rest of the cable,s that are in there,i think plug might be to big , as anyone on here ever cut the transducer cable so it can be pulled though the duct, then reconnect it again in the console, Any advice please
__________________

__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2011, 18:30   #2
Member
 
Andy B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 342
When i bought my Navman fishfinder from Hightower he had to cut the cable to remove it from his boat,
the cable has been soldered together, shrink wrapped and shows no signs of any problems and all works just as it should on my boat now.
__________________

__________________
Andy B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2011, 18:41   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
I'd be out with the Fairy Liquid before I'd cut it. Maybe even wig out a cable or two first to help.

But if cut it you must....
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2011, 18:46   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,693
Nightmare to reconnect. not sure if it's the same with all but the one I had to cut (not working anyway) had about 15 very thin wires. All colour coded then foil wrapped. Glad we never needed to re-fit

Peter ~ Boatsandoutboards4sale ~ askboatsandoutboards4sale@sky.com ~ 07930 421007
__________________
Boats&Outboards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2011, 19:07   #5
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy B View Post
When i bought my Navman fishfinder from Hightower he had to cut the cable to remove it from his boat,
the cable has been soldered together, shrink wrapped and shows no signs of any problems and all works just as it should on my boat now.
That Sikaflex is one tough sealant! I did try and remove it in one peice

Glad it worked after you stuck it back together again
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 October 2011, 20:04   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
I've cut and spliced (soldered) my transducer cable (Garmin, depth and temperature transducer, works fine.
__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2011, 02:07   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Morecambe
Boat name: Various
Make: Various
Length: 10m +
Engine: Various
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 173
Can be done, but if possible make the joint in / under the console, solder the joints, on each wire, cover with the right size heat shrink, and cover / smear generously with petroleum jelly before you shrink the heat shrink. (remember to put the heat shrink on before you solder) should be fine.
__________________
Trell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 October 2011, 13:47   #8
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by hadd View Post
Hi all, i need to put a new garmin fishfinder on the rib, the power cable & transducer cable are all in one & connected to a one inch plug that go,s in the back of the unit, i need to get the plug though the duct at the transom to the console,i haven't tried it yet,butt i don,t think it will go though with the rest of the cable,s that are in there,i think plug might be to big , as anyone on here ever cut the transducer cable so it can be pulled though the duct, then reconnect it again in the console, Any advice please
Well, after 2 hrs today trying to get the transducer plug though the cable duct i had to cut the cable to get it though , anyway all the wire,s are trimed back now ready for soldering
tomorrow, just hope it works, i'll let you know how i get on
__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 October 2011, 01:58   #9
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by hadd View Post
Well, after 2 hrs today trying to get the transducer plug though the cable duct i had to cut the cable to get it though , anyway all the wire,s are trimed back now ready for soldering
tomorrow, just hope it works, i'll let you know how i get on
Job completed & all working well
__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 October 2011, 17:06   #10
Member
 
tony t's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: west mids /tywyn
Boat name: HAWK
Make: RIBCRAFT/ Suzuki 250
Length: 7m +
Engine: Tohatsu 3.8/15hpsuzi
MMSI: 235086594
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by hadd
Job completed & all working well
Them fish better look out now then a Andy

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
When you get to the end of your rope..tie a knot and hang on..!!
Aberdovey Ribs
B.I.O.C.Member
B.S. LEADER
tony t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.