Old 12 June 2013, 03:54   #1
Town: Basingstoke
Make: Zodiac Pro Open 550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 90hp
Towing with a cover on

Hi all,

I am still pretty new to this game and ticking off one experience at a time learning what works and does not.

My latest dilemma is towing with a cover. I will need to do this as I plan to trail to far flung places (like Scotland and Cornwall) and carry quite a bit of kit (inc. windsurfing boards, sails, etc).

For the first time last night I tried it, just on the local dual carriage way, up to 60Mph. The cover (see picture) is held made of pretty sturdy canvas and is held on using 10mm bungees which go under the hull (not attached to trailer).

What happened? Well, the back of the boat looked fine, but the front (where you have the big dip between a high bow then the console) stretched out and flattened against the console. It looked a little worrying. If this then filled up with rain, I think I would have a real issue. The other observations were the bungees at the front were bouncing around a lot - risk of losing them.

What advice is out there? Should I consider some form of rope from bow to console to create more of a tent? should I give up the bungees?

Thanks guys.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Copy of 2013-06-11 20.22.29.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	81335  

totallydave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 June 2013, 04:14   #2
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
I was told early in my RIB life never to tow with a cover on, mainly because it increases drag by a huge amount with slows you down and costs a fortune in fuel. I did once tow with just the console cover on, it lasted about 5 miles on the A3 before it nearly came off.

There are plenty who do tow with them though.

thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 June 2013, 04:44   #3
RIBnet admin team
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp