Old 20 August 2013, 12:21   #1

Town: Southsea
Boat name: RIB GLADYS
Make: AVON
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 60HP EFI
RIBase
Time for a Rib

Hi, I am new to Rib.Net and like to ask some advise on a Rib which me and my GF are planning to buy and keep in a drystack in Southsea Portsmouth... What we are looking for is a cruising/family RIB, Between 4.7-5.2 meters long with say a 4 stroke 60-90HP engine.... Budget max £12K with a view to try and dip this to £10.5K as a max ...Our main waters will be around the Solent and IOW area and defo not planning to Jump waves etc... Looked at various RIBS on the main websites and understand that buying a good "brand" of RIB and engine might be a safe bet..... Ribeye, Avon, Valiant seem to be my preferred boats.... Companies like Wolfrock, GHB Marnine, JBT have stock and some boats are sold quickly so also looked at Chinese made Piranha and X-pro's which seems a fiar deal even as a new package.... If anybody can give at advise on this that would be great !
Old 20 August 2013, 14:07   #2

Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Welcome to Ribnet!

It's worth using the search function on here if there's a specific "obscure" boat you need to find out about.

As has been said dozens of times - What works for me might not work for you, so if they are all at dealers, pick a lumpy water day & ask for a test run or two - what you actually end up buying may not match your original thoughts!, as "real life" out on the water can show up "features" that you won't notice in a showroom.
Old 20 August 2013, 14:15   #3

Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
I just happen to have a boat that fits your requirements, a 2010 Avon with a 60hp efi Mariner, just put an ad on eBay - Item 171107721867
Old 20 August 2013, 14:32   #4

RIBase