Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 March 2006, 06:31   #1
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
Throttle control

Hopefully someone can help me out here.

I am looking for a top mounting control box that will lock into neutral,in the same way as the side mounting ones do.

The reasoning being- it needs to be top mounting so that it can be placed in the centre of the console where both the student and instructor can reach it. It also need to have the clutch lever/switch (not sure what the correct technical name is) so that our students (and instructors) can find neutral easily without going from full ahead to full reverse.

Have searched everywhere and I find it hard to belive that such a thing does not exist.

Any help would be greatly apprecitaed.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 06:47   #2
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Doug

If you have no luck send me a PM. I'm sure a solution can be engineered using the lever off a side mounted throttle and an aluminium bush screwed to the side of the unit. Like the old OMC units used, I even have one in the garage.

My kids found it hard to find neutral on the Top mounted Suzuki throttle I have. I put a small shim under the spring for the indent ball bearing to give a more positive feel to it.

Nasher.
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 07:16   #3
Trade member
 
tim griffin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newport IoW
Boat name: Amean/Pronto/Rumbo
Make: Solent Rib Princess
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200hp Etec 260x 2
MMSI: lots of them
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,859
Try google search on teleflex as they make a top box Calshot activity centre have one on their humber . If no luck there try Fairweather marine as Lee can get hold of most and I think is a stockist.

www.fairweathermarine.co.uk The teleflex top box works on a rocker type neutral lock and it works well .
__________________
Tim Griffin
RYA Freelance YMI power Powerboat and PWC instructor trainer vhf first aid sea survival Diesel engine radar and navigation instructor
tim griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 07:23   #4
ADS
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,410
If your after that particular teleflex item I ve got a phone number for Teleflex U.K, who import teleflex products, they could probably point you in the direction of a stockist: PM me and I can give you the number.

Alex
__________________
ADS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 07:24   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Doug

I have been looking for one for ages. So far the Teleflex 700TSLT is the only one I have found that seems to have it all.

http://www.teleflexmarine.com/docume...002_5_1016.pdf

Try
Jim Downing
Auto Marine
10 Elm Grove
Southsea
PO5 1JG
02392 825601
www.automarine.biz
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 07:29   #6
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Hayle, Kernow
Boat name: Spare RIB
Make: Narwhal
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Yam Outboard
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 642
Hi
Teleflex make a top mounting shift and throttle assemby, one lever for throttel and one for shift with an "Optional neutral safety switch" ??

http://www.teleflexmarine.com/cgi-bi...s&product=1076

Shaggy
__________________
Shaggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 08:18   #7
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
Thanks

Thank you everyone. I knew you lot, would have the answer. I have been bombareded with private messages, emails and even a phone call from Tim G.

Looks like the Teleflex is the answer
__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 08:46   #8
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
teleflex

Just had a chat with a guy at unipart who was very helpful. They are the importers/dealers for teleflex.

It just so happens that following 20 yrs of making this throttle they have developed a new one, arrives in the UK in three weeks and trade price is 156.28 plus a bit of vat.
__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 12:05   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: SOLD
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 794
Is there a reason why the top box dont lock into nuetral
__________________
Roy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2006, 18:53   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Towcester
Boat name: Treliska
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard 225 Optimax
MMSI: 232009522
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 187
RIBase
Be aware that there are two teleflex units that have this feature, and one has been discontinued because they break too often. The first one of these is the one with the "rock and roll" top unit. The second is the new style, which has a button, and apparently works. This is the one that is soon to be availiable. Make sure you don't get the old one, as there seems to be almost a 100% faliure rate.
__________________

__________________
Andy_Rs600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.