Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 May 2015, 12:34   #1
Member
 
kerlstone's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Deepsea
Make: Bwm 18
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 100hp, +4hp
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
Tacho help.

Will this tacho work with a 100 hp, 4 cyl, 2 stroke mariner ?, and the needle is not at zero, is this a problem ?.


Thanks, Gerry.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	$_57 (2).jpg
Views:	74
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	105271   Click image for larger version

Name:	$_57 (3).jpg
Views:	70
Size:	110.0 KB
ID:	105272   Click image for larger version

Name:	$_57 (4).jpg
Views:	71
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	105273  
__________________

__________________
kerlstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2015, 19:56   #2
Member
 
kerlstone's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Deepsea
Make: Bwm 18
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 100hp, +4hp
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 120
BUMP.

could someone help with this as its on ebay at the moment,

Thanks,

Gerry.
__________________

__________________
kerlstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2015, 02:20   #3
Member
 
SimonStDavids's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: St Davids
Boat name: Mellifera
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 169
RIBase
Hi Gery,

I might be wrong and don't buy it on my word but I would think probably.

Have a look at this link from faria and see if you can find your outboard and pole settings on the list

http://faria-instruments.com/site_manuals/IS0086t.pdf

If so and the other one can be set to the same number of poles it should work

I think all tachometers work on the same principle and the number if poles is just the number of pulses that comes down the signal wire.

Console end you will need a switched positive, Earth and signal wire. On my loom that yellow, black and green.

On another note be wary of the quality of some gauges, it's a harsh environment for a gauge on a rib! I got a new faria one on eBay for 35 after 6 months of hard looking
__________________
SimonStDavids is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2015, 02:24   #4
Member
 
SimonStDavids's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: St Davids
Boat name: Mellifera
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 169
RIBase
Just looked at picture 1 a bit closer.

Your outboard will need to have either 5, 6 or 10 pulses for this gauge to work.
__________________
SimonStDavids is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2015, 03:19   #5
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
A lot of gauges will show the revs when engine was turned off. Should reset to zero when they are next powered up.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.