Old 19 September 2011, 15:11   #1

Town: Poole
Boat name: Triple O
Make: R70
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 200hp
Shearwater - any good

I'm considering a move up to a larger cabin rib. Shearwater look nice. Any opinions amongst the educated here ? What else should I be considering of similar type and look ?
Old 19 September 2011, 15:29   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
I've no direct experience of Shearwater so I'll leave commenting to those that do.

Other boats of a similar 'ilk? I guess it depends on budget and which bits of the Shearwater are appealing, and if you are looking new or used:

- Ribcraft: they do one that actually uses the Shearwater cabin moulding (or a close derivative).
- Ribeye: they offer something that at first glance is not dissimilar.
- Scorpion: perhaps the pioneers of production cabin ribs?
- Redbay: whilst probably more commonly thought of for their Wheelhouse rather than open cabin ribs, I think I am right in saying they do offer that option.
- Excalibur: or whatever has happened to them (assuming the rumour mill is true)
- Parker: I'm sure Andre had a demo model a year or so ago which had a small cabin area up front, but still with an open boat.
- Biffer: could build you whatever you want, or if you offer him enough he'll sell you his!
- Ribquest: since being bought out by Skua are allegedly planning a cabin version - no idea what that might be like.
- Zar: somewhat "different" looking, but as a casual observer, potentially very practical for the "weekending" rib couple?

There may be others... ...but I guess you'll need to define what you are looking for a bit more.
Old 19 September 2011, 16:02   #3

Get in touch with PeterM on this forum, he used to own one (I think he still borrows it), ive heard nothing bad about them only good things, they look nice, quick hull etc.
Old 19 September 2011, 16:07   #4
RIBnet supporter

Town: Berkshire
Boat name: Blueray,baby blue