Old 11 September 2009, 17:34   #1

Town: Derry Londonderry
Boat name: Davtech 1
Make: Brig
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 40hp Outboar
Self Inflating Tubes???

Hello there.

Im a newbie to this forum and to boating, so please forgive my stupidity.

On Tuesday I discovered that the tube on my rib seem to have been deflated by about 50% of the air inside. The tubes stayed deflated for 2 days as I didnt have time to pump it up on Tuesday. Today, when I arrived home (its a much warner day today) the tube seems to be almost fully inflated again!!!

Is this normal for atmospheric pressures to affect the tubes in the rib to this extent. (I was convinced I had a puncture! Or am I just going mad?)

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Davin
Old 11 September 2009, 17:38   #2
JSP

Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Never had them change by about 50% but they can go very soft when the temp drops and can go very hard when it gets warmer. With this nice weather we're having this week I'd keep your tubes a little deflated
Old 11 September 2009, 18:38   #3

Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
pressure is highly correlated to temperature (linear).

If they are plump in the water you can split a seam on the trailer. You should adjust the pressure based on the temp.
Old 11 September 2009, 20:05   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Quote:
Originally Posted by captnjack View Post
pressure is highly correlated to temperature (linear).

If they are plump in the water you can split a seam on the trailer. You should adjust the pressure based on the temp.