Old 08 December 2006, 13:23   #1

Town: Yarmouth, IoW
Boat name: 7up
Make: Ribeye Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc 150 Opti
MMSI: 235057812
Scoop on Ribeye

I'm new to this ribbing lark, and looking around thought a Ribeye6.5 sport would make a great boat with a 115 or 150 on it. Second hand (3 year old)around 17-20k with all the bits...
There seem to be some negativity in the forumites? Why?
What else would be good for the family and friends for a bit of west country cruising and skiing?
I looked at Ballistic - but can't get one in budget (have they not been around long?)
Old 08 December 2006, 13:41   #2

Town: Bracknell
Boat name: Boatless and lost
Length: no boat
MMSI: Who?
Hi Genoa and welcome.

Osprey are definately worth looking at.

I have a 6.5 metre Vipermax with a Merc 150hp Optimax and its a great RIB for cruising and playing in the rough stuff.

Have a look here.

http://www.ospreyribs.co.uk/

Born to stuff!!
Phil Chitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 December 2006, 17:36   #3

Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
i would say that a ribeye would be at the very very bottom on my list!! plastic boats and crap quality!!
Old 08 December 2006, 17:46   #4

Town: Essex/Vendee
Boat name: shockwave,Voluntry 2
Make: Pac 22/ searider5.4
Engine: 180hp turbo,yam 90
I think hes trying to say you may be disapointed .Their not that bad but you will find better for your bugdet
Old 08 December 2006, 17:47   #5

Boat name: Ribell
Hi Genoa,

I have read so much in the last few months, I am starting to get confused.
I think i am right in saying the Ribeye Playtime is not a good choice for what you want. There is very little info on the Sport model, but the majority of it is good. One ponit that may cause some negativity is the cost of the Ribey when new, £33,000 for a 650 with a 150 4 stroke before you add the extras!

A Vipermax was top of my list until I came accross a 785 with a 200 Yamaha for a good price.