Old 31 December 2015, 20:28   #1

Town: Dorset
Boat name: No boat
Length: no boat
Scillies trip

Hi newbie here will be going over to the scillies for the gig rowing champs went last year and had a good time, was thinking of taking the rib this year, just wondered any fellow ribs over there, what's the moorings like and if any regulars have any advice or tips for the joinery
Old 01 January 2016, 00:44   #2

Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke123 View Post
Hi newbie here will be going over to the scillies for the gig rowing champs went last year and had a good time, was thinking of taking the rib this year, just wondered any fellow ribs over there, what's the moorings like and if any regulars have any advice or tips for the joinery

Yeah, stick to simple joints before you attempt any thing like a hidden dovetail. Get a good jig & keep your router bits sharp👍
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:Don't feed the troll
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 January 2016, 03:17   #3
RIBnet Supporter

Length: 4m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Yeah, stick to simple joints before you attempt any thing like a hidden dovetail. Get a good jig & keep your router bits sharp��
I take it you'd recommend a "planing craft" then Pikey?

Be nice tomorrow (when you've dried out) and welcome the newbie
Old 01 January 2016, 08:31   #4

Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
You 'orrible bunch of pi$$ takers.

We make this trip quite regularly out of Falmouth.

My first piece of advice would be, avoid the 'World' gig champs like the plague!
Old 01 January 2016, 09:14   #5

Town: N. Devon
Boat name: (Not Another) Nutkin
Make: Highfield
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, Honda 135
MMSI: 232036183
RIBase
Quote: