Old 27 August 2009, 08:25   #141

Town: Lymington
Boat name: Farfetched
Make: Solent
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc. 150 Outboard
MMSI: Lucederterv...?
Plas Menai -
As a dinghy instructor I understand what experience the helmswoman would have had - plenty of low speed manoeverability and troll speed rib driving, some up to about 10 knots in short bursts but thats really all. PB2, especially if the qualification is done in calm waters is not a rough weather qualification - thats an advanced powerboat qualification skill. I know powerboat instructors as well who I have had to coach in rough weather ribbing.

I don't blame her and commend her for acknowledging her limitations and volunteering as an AI for the exercise and trying to turn back when it got rough. Her turning in rough seas in those waves in an apparently unfamiliar boat are outside her skills and abilities.

Her helming style is fine for low speed dinghy coaching and neither of the senior more experienced instructors corrected her. I strongly feel that the SIiC was to blame for the planning and his failure to spot the limitations of his instructors however I understand how this scenario could go wrong so easily. Him not checking casualties and the welfare of students is a grave error; this is taught as an instructor let alone an advanced powerboat instructor.

Our centre is based in the Medina and we don't run powerboat fun runs in the solent, we don't carry enough inflatible life jackets (150kn) we only have 50kn buoyancy aids.

We are obviously better than Plas Menai
Old 27 August 2009, 10:16   #142

Town: Near Godalming
Boat name: AJA
Make: Ribeye
Engine: Yamaha F150AETX
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post

Wind strength doesn't always = wave height. Some of the worst seas I have seen have been with a Force 2 - after a big blow and a strange tide condition.

Is there a way to predict sea conditions to prevent people heading out in awful seas?