Town: Cambridge
Boat name: SIBylle
Make: Honda Honwave
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda BF20
MMSI: 235915576
Ribeye or???

Hi,

I'm new to RIBs and could really do with some sound advice.

From what I've researched I think I'm on for a RIB of about 4m. The ribeye ts400 seems about right in terms of capacity, teamed with a 20 Hp outboard. It will be used for coastal hopping, family days trips (up to four adults plus a few small kids max) fishing etc. Will be beached a lot. Almost certain I want RIB and not SIB or solid GRP boat or plastic boat such as a Terhi.

However, not knowing the marketplace I don't really know what other brands/RIBs are comparable/better.
Also, outboards. Mercury, Yamaha, Tohatsu, Suzuki... Is there a better make? I was going for Yam because the local guy is a dealer so might be better for service/repair but other brands are as much as £400 cheaper for the 20Hp tiller model!

I have about £4-5k to spend and already have VHF, life jackets etc.

Finally, could I roof-rack the 75kg Ribeye and boot a 20Hp engine?

Thanks...

Stig
Old 26 October 2015, 07:12   #2

In fact a Parson is about £700 cheaper than the Yam... For 20hp, that's a lot in my eyes...
Old 26 October 2015, 07:25   #3

See now I'm staying, for £2850 I could have a Seabrook 430HD and 20Hp Parson new, which would keep the wife happy, costs down and might be good enough???
Old 26 October 2015, 09:28   #4
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Stop. You are comparing totally different offerings. Tell us what you want to do, where you want to do it, why you think a rib is the right tool and how much experience you have and you'll get better advice.
Old 26 October 2015, 09:42   #5

Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
I'm selling this one...

http://www.ebay.co.uk/ulk/itm/151846627615
Old 26 October 2015, 09:54   #6

Town: WARSAW
Boat name: T1
Make: HIGHFIELD OM540DL
Length: 5m +
Engine: EVINRUDE 115 HO
MMSI: 261026640
Quote: