Old 02 May 2011, 15:38   #1

Town: Barnstaple
Boat name: N/A
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50 Suzuki Petrol
Ribcraft 4.8 Channel Crossing

Guys,

I own the above boat and i'm considering taking it over to Alderney, departing from Weymouth. Have any of you got any experience doing this trip in this size boat. The outboard is a Suzuki 50...(petrol). I have limited experience and would be going in company with other like minded people. The trip has been organised by "Rib Squadron"....not sure if any of you have heard of them. They recently did an article in RibMagazine.
I have completed a couple of RYA courses and the organisers have told me that my boat is more than up to the job....what are your thoughts????
Old 02 May 2011, 16:08   #2
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Just be sensible with the weather and you should be fine. Bear in mind that your cruising speed will drop significantly if the conditions worsen.

Make sure you have enough fuel on board, and try to avoid having to pour from jerry cans.

Have fun, and post pictures when you get back
Old 02 May 2011, 16:17   #3

Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
It would be good to see you as part of that trip or even for more than just a lunch stop.

Make sure that the Squadron are prepared to either allocate you a buddy boat, or will adjust the whole group's speed as John says you will be the first to slow down if it gets choppy.
Old 02 May 2011, 16:19   #4

Thanks John,

At the moment i'm still unsure whether i have the experience to do it. I'm certain the boat is up to it but not sure about me. Like you say if the weather is good then no problems but if it starts getting rough then i'm not so sure. I have two 25 litre tanks so i think that should be enough to get me there....what do you reckon???
Old 02 May 2011, 16:34   #5