Old 15 October 2009, 12:57   #1

Town: Brighton
Boat name: Zed "Dodgy II"
Make: Zodiac
Length: 3m +
Engine: NA
Replacing Transom

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to this sort of thing and bought my first inflatable boat about 6 weeks ago from Ebay. It's quite an old Zodiac from (1989/90). I have since found out that the transom is rotten and am in the process of replacing it (a can or worms, I know).

I intend to glue together three sheets of 9mm marine ply to get the required thickness.

What glue should I use?

Some say Cascamite (despite the fact it has a limited life), others say a waterproof PVA will do the job.

I'll try and keep this updated with my progress on restoring this boat if anyone is interested and put some pictures up when I'm not at work

Any help would be much appreciated!

Aj
Old 15 October 2009, 14:47   #2
mdt

Town: fife
Make: Humber / searider
Length: 5m +
MMSI: ... - - - ...
To laminate ply I would not use any Glue. I would use epoxy resin.

But could I ask why not just buy thicker ply in the first place ?

and yes photos are good
Old 15 October 2009, 15:18   #3

Boat name: llyn raider
Make: xs
Length: 7m +
Engine: 1 200hp merc
+1 for epoxy resin. you will be needing a bit of it anyway.
Old 15 October 2009, 16:01   #4

Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Windsor Brothers
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 225
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
And another for Epoxy Resin.

I can't imagine doing it any other way.

Nasher
Old 15 October 2009, 16:24   #5

Town: andover
Make: Renegade 720
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 verado
replacing transom

I would normally bond the ply by scoring the surfaces to be bonded and thenpolyester or epoxy resin with a 450grm chopped strand mat between then clamp or screw to hold repeat for required thickness
Old 15 October 2009, 19:58   #6
mdt

Town: fife
Make: Humber / searider
Length: 5m +
MMSI: ... - - - ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by markb View Post