Old 23 November 2014, 17:45   #1

Town: Cardiff
Length: 4m +
Replacement steering cable

Hi all,

This is my first post, so first let me introduce myself! My name's Rich and I'm very new to RIBs and boating in general - I did my RYA PB2 over the summer and got a bit of a taste for it. I've just bought a second hand Avon SR4 as I thought that was a good place to start.

I've got a few things to do to the boat to tidy it up and make it my own - one of the first niggles is that the steering cable is far too long and is therefore coiled up on the deck, which is a bit of a trip hazard! Is it possible to shorten these? If not, how do I go about getting a new one? Are they specific to the engine manufacturer or more generic?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Rich
Old 23 November 2014, 18:06   #2

Town: Daventry & Beaulieu
Boat name: Tigga2
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Engine: Honda BF50
MMSI: 235900806
RIBase
Rich, I think you just need to buy a shorter cable and replace it, but someone else will be along soon who known more about steering cables.

An SR4 is a great rib, I have one as well. They give more smiles per pound than any other rib IMHO. Where do you do your boating?
chris.moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 November 2014, 18:25   #3

Town: Enfield/Switzerland
Boat name: Zonneschijn II/Vixen
Make: Shakespeare/Avon
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evin' 175 DI /Yam 90
MMSI: 235055605
Rich
Welcome!
You can't really shorten steering cables I don't think. As Chris said you need to buy a new one.
They should I think fit to any engine, but you need one to fit your help unit. You also need to measure up right taking into account how many bends (corners) to go round. Some suppliers have a diagram with measurement instructions. Or ask someone with same SR4 setup as you to check length of theirs.
Old 23 November 2014, 19:01   #4

Town: Bangor
Boat name: Mitigator
Make: XS
Engine: Mercury Verado 250
A steering cable coiled on the deck?