Old 07 October 2016, 02:06   #1

Town: Vancouver
Boat name: I Wish
Make: Any please
Length: no boat
Engine: Tripple 350's
Questions for RIB Owners from an Engineering Student Team

Hello Sirs and Madams,

I'm an undergraduate Mechanical Engineering student at UBC in Vancouver, BC, Canada. In the final year of our degree, all engineering students are required to complete a culminating design project for a real-world client. My team has been engaged by a local rigid hull inflatable boat manufacturer to create a vessel-integrated, automated collar inflation and pressure monitoring system.

As part of our project requirements, my team is required to carry out a user needs assessment, as well as create a market assessment. We've experienced considerable difficulty identifying local owner/operators willing to have a conversation with us, so we have decided to look slightly further abroad.

I was hoping that some of you fine, upstanding forum members, would be willing to answer some basic questions regarding your current methods for collar pressure maintenance, as well as your opinions regarding what features/functionality you would like to see in an on-board, automated system.

My team and I would very appreciative if you could answer all, or a portion thereof, of the following questions:

1) What size of RIB do you own/operate?

2) How many compartments constitute that vessel's collar?

3) What is the general category of use for the vessel? Recreational? Commercial/Industrial? Enforcement/SAR?

4) What equipment and methods do you currently employ to inflate/maintain the compartment pressures? For example: How do you assess collar pressures? By 'feel' or sound? A portable or permanently installed gauge? When required, how do you top up the compartments? A foot pump? Portable compressor (DC or AC supplied)? Compressed gas cylinders? On-board compressor and distribution system?

5) Approximately how much did your current system cost to purchase?