Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 January 2008, 17:27   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Remember you will need one for each chamber. They sound like a great idea though.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 17:30   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
Im sure if the craft is going to be used in our weather climits, then having it in the just two chambers would surfice, as it would relieve a small amount of pressure on the baffels to the next chamber, although yes i think you would be right if abroad.
__________________

__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 19:13   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dartmouth
Boat name: TIDEL III
Make: AVON SEARIDER
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 823
roy if your rib is a scorpion i would expect it to have leafield valves fitted only option will be to fit leafield a6 valves if you want to do it properly .with a bit of brute force these can be fitted without opening up the tube
__________________
paul tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 19:19   #14
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom View Post
Im sure if the craft is going to be used in our weather climits, then having it in the just two chambers would surfice, as it would relieve a small amount of pressure on the baffels to the next chamber, although yes i think you would be right if abroad.
Just a personal opinion but I'd fit one on each chamber-it's a scorp, why do things by halves? The boat certainly doesn't
Besides, it's always better to cover your back.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 19:24   #15
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul tilley View Post
roy if your rib is a scorpion i would expect it to have leafield valves fitted only option will be to fit leafield a6 valves if you want to do it properly .with a bit of brute force these can be fitted without opening up the tube
Out of interest Paul,(and the fact that I've got some a6 valves and spare hypalon in my garage)

How would you do it? With the valve bolted to a patch-and what thickness hypalon for the patch? How would you get the pressure to get the glue to seal (particularly when there's a load of armour on my tubes so they aren't very flexible)
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 21:07   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom View Post
Im sure if the craft is going to be used in our weather climits, then having it in the just two chambers would surfice, as it would relieve a small amount of pressure on the baffels to the next chamber, although yes i think you would be right if abroad.
If you use common sense and constantly keep adjusting pressures then you don't really need them but I have light coloured tubes and the difference in pressure on our odd hot days last summer was scary - they definitely stop you worrying. Especially when I saw a RIB split a seam 2 years ago.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 21:36   #17
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Punta gorda Fl.
Boat name: War Machine
Make: Falcon U.S.A.
Length: 9m +
Engine: twin 250 Yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 936
Pressure relief valves

I replaced all nine pressure relief valves on my rib two years ago, seems they were about 30 dollars apiece for the mil-spec units used on these (Demaree) sponsons, just wondering what they might cost in the U.K.?
__________________
pathalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 January 2008, 21:52   #18
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
I have a pinhole leak somewhere?? As my tubes are red and I can get air temp swings up to 40 degrees. F in 24 hours I think I am not going to find and fix the leak. It only takes me 10 mins to top off the tubes. I have a built in relief system. I am sure there are leaks between the chambers as it all balances out.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 04:15   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Just a personal opinion but I'd fit one on each chamber-it's a scorp, why do things by halves? The boat certainly doesn't
Besides, it's always better to cover your back.
#

Yes good point, common sense, which I didnt seem to have last night, when writing my commment! I will have a look today and find out prices, how many are in stock and get a picture aswell.
__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 06:19   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Make: RIBTEC 655
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 150
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,157
http://translate.google.com/translat...A_enGB244GB244

if you look at this page it has a listing, its red on their website.
__________________

__________________
thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.