Old 18 September 2012, 05:43   #1

Town: Globe
Boat name: Floaty Weirdo
Make: 15m bigego
Length: 10m +
Engine: Ford Alternantor
newbie warning

I'm an eager newbie / fool ???? Went out from rye saturday, tide was running fast and high. Started to go out into the channel from the ramp, as I went out engine stopped. So I was drifting across in the tide and river current, hating Bill Higham, "sorry Bill , wasnt you" preying to the holy father. Keeping cool , was the only way out, I knew that. Anyway grabbed the harbour master boat , lashed on, pumped the fuel , gave it choke, it went , was ok. Thought it was because I havent yet used the engine enough in three months and was coldish and needed a bit of fast idle, there were two rnli "hero's" watching and I was having a laugh with them as it was happening, so I new it wasnt that bad or they wouldnt have been so relaxed about it. Anyway I went out, was going up the channel and it happened again , the engine just stopped. This time there were two big boats comming in towards me, "if your not nearly dying your not living right ???? " I didnt want to be living in that way right now, believe me !!! I started turning the engine over with choke , and all I got was "Horror film car wont start syndrome! " boats comming at me , from a distance , I had some time, but realised that I was in a very very dodgey situation , without a suitable paddle or an anchor and with an engine that wont start, not very cleaver, so I gave it a good choke and it started. Few !!! , no actually PHEEEEEEW !!!!!! Then I just had to get out the way right??? But , had the big boats allready altered their course? , if so I would go over to the right lane, they would be then comming at me , I would move, they would move, and could easily just get into a right mess over which way to go, I know you give way to bigger boats , pass on port, correct me if I am wrong , but the big boats cant just switch left and right as they need time to alter there course. Luck