Old 25 April 2004, 20:20   #1

Town: portsmouth
Boat name: RIBBIT
Make: bombard
Length: 5.3
Engine: suzuki 70 ob EFI
Newbie Owner

I'm new to rib ownership and would appreciate some help on a couple of issues:

( I know the answers are probably already posted on this forum, but hey I'm lazy...)

Where should I go and what should I ask for regarding insurance. The rib will be used within 20 miles of the coast (Solent area) and be stored at home on my drive.

Should I register the rib with SSR.

What security is recommended.

What are the generally accepted levels of safety kit carried (flares, vhf etc)

Should I join a club/establishment regarding the social scene (2 kids around 11/12 years old)

And if any owner out there has a 'golden' piece of advice, lets hear it.

Cheers in advance.

Doug
Old 25 April 2004, 20:31   #2

Town: Brittany/Portsmouth
Boat name: Merlin
Make: Solent 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200
MMSI: soon !
Hi myndit...

You'll quickly get answers to the other queries but quite a few peeps go ribbing in the Solent. If you want us to accompany you on a voyage send us a pm (personal message) as we are out at weekends and we often launch at Gosport, (we have a similar sized craft )

Paul & Kathleen

(PS you might find taking lessons extremely helpful as they can be tailored to your needs eg knowing what to bring etc.)
Old 25 April 2004, 23:44   #3

Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
Quote:
Originally Posted by myndit
I'm new to rib ownership and would appreciate some help on a couple of issues:

( I know the answers are probably already posted on this forum, but hey I'm lazy...)

Where should I go and what should I ask for regarding insurance. The rib will be used within 20 miles of the coast (Solent area) and be stored at home on my drive.

Do a search for insurance. There was a thread not so long ago. Loads of people around. e.g. PIC, Mardon etc.

Should I register the rib with SSR.