Old 23 July 2013, 08:13   #1

Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
RIBase
Newbie dumb questions

Hi, Im still learning and looking for my first boat, so Ive a few questions that are possibly a bit dumb.

Hull shape ? I keep reading about different shaped hulls - more "V" shaped being better in rough conditions - is that right ? Also just how much of a difference will it make ? Will this affect me in the real world, or is it only at the limit of performance.

Other threads talk about some haveing more Chines, just how will / does this matter ?

Given I plan on getting a 6-7m boat and keeping it in Corsica - where Im yet to see waves that will excite a UK RIB owner, Im not sure if I need to worry too much.

Im looking at Capelli Tempests by the way, as they seem suited to the crusing / exploring / diving I plan to do.

Cheers.
Old 23 July 2013, 08:44   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Trimix - I've not been to Corsica, but all of the med can get a bit of chop on in a breeze so I wouldn't assume you don't want a good hull.

More V cuts through waves better but requires more power to drive it. Less V = smaller engine so cheaper package/higher speed but less comfort. The difference is noticeable even in small waves and sensible speeds. Whether it matters to you is a different question.

Chines, spray rails etc are a bit more complex. Are you looking for speed, comfort, minimum power, tight cornering etc?

If you are going to spend a lot of money on a rib - you might want to look at something like this: http://www.rib.net/forum/f8/book-rev...ike-55918.html
Old 23 July 2013, 09:45   #3

RIBase
OK cheers, thats helpfull. Ive booked myself on an ICC course the week after next down in Poole - where I can learn a bit more.

I will also have a look at the book - plus all the magazines etc.