Old 19 September 2011, 20:11   #1

Length: no boat
New to ribbing - advice re boat selection

Hello all

I am looking for some advice re purchasing a rib. I am new to ribbing, but have had an interest for a little while now, and having now saved up enough to make a purchase (hopefully), I need advice on the right rib to buy.

A safe and seaworthy rib is the main criteria for me - I live on the Isle of Man, and want to be able to travel to the mainland, or to Ireland of a weekend, as well as a bit of diving and leisure use. Having had a good look around, I assume that a 5.5m rib would be okay for me, but I am open to any input from experienced people. I have a budget of £7.5 to work to. Having looked around the net, and a few boat parks, I like the look of the Delta rib's (they look pretty sturdy), but i'm not certain that I would find one within my budget. There are a lot of Northcraft rib's locally, that come up for sale from time to time, but I am not sure what they are like.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 19 September 2011, 21:10   #2

Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
being that trips to Ireland or the mainland will be upwards of 30-50 miles thats quite a trip to undertake in a 5.5 meter in anything but calm conditions....really I would be looking at a minimum of 6.5 meter to undertake these kind of trips.

6.5 meter ribs do come up in your price range however it will be an older boat, probably late 90's early 2000's. If you can stretch to 10k you will more than likely find something very capable that will keep you going for a few years.

As for make then all the usual suspects are covered in a multitude of "Rib Advice" posts on here so no need to list them all out here (apart from Osprey of course )

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 September 2011, 21:15   #3