Old 13 July 2009, 10:54   #1

Town: Littlehampton
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 83hp jet drive
New to forum - help please

Hi all,

Jsut wanted to introduce myself and chuck a couple of questions out there.

I'm completely new to boating and having just bought an Avon 2 stroke jet rib ( 400 dl ), could use some advice with some minor repairs and upgrades.

i've seen some mixed reviews on these boats but having used it on friday, can't say i agree. yes the handling at low speed is poor but the high speed handling is great.

I have a 5year old and a wife who can't swim so i'm looking to attach some grab rails, one on the transom and one either side of the rear seats. Also one in front of the console. I've scoured the internet but not found anything suitable yet. Should i fix to the fibreglass or the tubes?

I managed to avoid a You tube disaster whilst launching but could improve on the recovery. I've seen people drive them onto carpet bunk trailers, but not having the confidence , i decided to drag it on, which went ok , suprisingly.

I intend to get some training before my family go on it but could also use a good quality repiar service near littlehampton. Any ideas. I have 2 small chips on the keel and some craking on the bow step. This got worse after the trip out on friday.

mant thanks

ben
Old 13 July 2009, 15:27   #2

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
If you're attaching grab rails to a glass boat (which I assume yours is) and expect them to actually provide support, make sure you've got adequate backing for the mounting screws/bolts. Fiberglass is not the strongest stuff in the world. If you're putting fasteners into the core wood, make sure you seal it up against water intrusion.