Old 19 August 2004, 19:25   #1

Town: Plymouth
Length: no boat
New to all this

Hi - I've just registered for this forum, been reading for a while without realising I had to register.

I'm new to RIBS, have been trying to get some experience and passed my level 2 powerboat 2 weeks ago.

I'm keen to take the next step and get a boat but not sure which way to go and wondered if anyone with more experience could offer any advice. I want to get the whole family involved (and they're keen) but the youngest is 4 years. My wife is unhappy getting a RIB because of the age of the youngest (I can see her point) and prefers something more like the Regal bowrider etc - tried them out, nice enough, though not sure how they are for coastal use.

Anyone else using a RIB in similar circumstances - are RIBS best avoided with youngesters in this age group ?

Thanks for any advice, it's getting quite frustrating as we're all keen to start getting out on a boat and build up experience.

Thanks for any advice

Steve
Old 19 August 2004, 19:48   #2

Town: Ardnamurchan
Boat name: Out of the Blue
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 100
MMSI: 235 079 253
RIBs are great for young children, lots of soft bouncy rubber to protect them from injury. However young children (and many adults) are easily frightened. Stick to sheltered waters and a good rule of thumb is to only venture out into conditions that your most timid crew members feels comfortable with. Its alway better to be in sheltered waters wishing you were offshore than the other way around.
Old 19 August 2004, 20:01   #3

Town: london
Boat name: Frances May
Make: vailant DR450
Length: 4m +
Engine: mercury 50 hp
Send a message via Yahoo to Daniel TD5
steve

welcome to rib net firstly

i have a two little ones the four year old won,t go any were near my rib