Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 November 2007, 10:20   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
New Solent/Spitbank Fort Webcam

I have set up a webcam that shows a live image of the Spitbank Fort just outside of Portsmouth harbour. People might find this handy if they want to see what the conditions are like before they set out. It updates every 30 seconds, 24 hours a day.

www.evolutionribs.co.uk/webcam.htm - add it to your favourites!

If it doesn't work, please let me know - I've had a couple of teething problems so far but I think they are sorted now.

Edit: having just put this up it appears to have stopped working. I changed hosting companies yesterday and this appears to be to problem. If it doesn't work when you click try again later - I will attempt to sort the problem.
__________________

__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2007, 12:10   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Seems to be working now-though it's dark and I can't see much so I may be wrong.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2007, 12:27   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Had a look an hour ago and it was working fine. Nice job.
T.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2007, 14:38   #4
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Tim,

Well done brilliant idea. Will save me ringing up Hightower for an on the spot sea state
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2007, 15:03   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
It seems to be working ok now (or it will once there is some light!)
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 November 2007, 15:39   #6
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Well, did you see me and Ian this afternoon then? Went past Spitbank a couple of times.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2007, 05:49   #7
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Tim,

Just an observation, It says on the web page that it updates every 30 seconds.
For me I have to press the refresh button to get a new picture. Is that what it should do or should the page be automatically updating.

Nick.

Still handy though.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 December 2007, 19:05   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
Its not set to automatically refresh the page; the image is updated every thirty seconds but you need to manually reload/refresh it. If people want I can change it if it would make it more usable........
__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2007, 03:04   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Ive never set up a webcam before, is it not possible to just have a live feed now rather than having frames every few seconds?

Chris
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 December 2007, 07:39   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
This is the easiest way, and I suppose uses a lot less bandwidth than a live stream. If anyone knows of any good free software to allow me to do a live stream I'd be happy to give it a go.
__________________

__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.