Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 July 2012, 18:37   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Vacuum??? pitot speedos measure dynamic pressure, with the pressure gauge calibrated in mph.

My Merc & old Yam had a pitot hole on the front of the leg for the same reason.
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2012, 18:43   #12
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Vacuum??? pitot speedos measure dynamic pressure, with the pressure gauge calibrated in mph.

My Merc & old Yam had a pitot hole on the front of the leg for the same reason.
I stand corrected - no wonder they bung up if you force sea water up them...
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 02:34   #13
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
Welcome!

(i) its ugly which suggests it wasn't done by someone who knew what they were doing or who was in a rush. However if you can't get any flex or movement it is probably OK. (ii) is that just dirt / mould at the back or a split/crack?

its actually the opposite from what Erin described. As water flows past the opening in the tube (known as a pitot) it creates a vacuum (think Venturi principle) - the faster it flows the harder it sucks. The spedo then measures the pressure to report a speed. They are notoriously unreliable and get block with crap. The GPS has largely made them redundant.


What is a 'bit of play'. There is always some slack so it needs someone who knows to feel it its worse than you'd expect. I've never had a boot on mine so its not critical but presumably any outboard dealer could supply.


possibly the only thing less reliable than a pitot tube! Usually the sensor is just a variable resistor that moves with a small spring loaded lever as the engine goes up / down. If you are lucky it will just be bent out of place, or a loose/corroded connection, but its quite possible that the critical part inside is goosed as they aren't very well sealed.
Its all solid and has been glassed from the inside, it Just looks a bit rough cosmetically. Thanks for explaining the speedo principle.
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 02:36   #14
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boats&Outboards View Post
These look like the tanks you need. Not cheap though - note the grove in the centre of its base to help secure in place on your deck


GENUINE Quicksilver Fuel Tank Mariner Mercury Outboard Motor

GENUINE Quicksilver Fuel Tank Mariner Mercury Outboard Motor | eBay

Also the speedo works on a vacuum feed via the pipe connecting it and the gauge.

The round bracket that's been removed looks like the older Garmin 120 fish finder brackets. The square perhaps a navman gps combo as the transducer (in the background of the speedo pic) is a navman one.

The trim fault could b the trim sender unit located within the tilt system on the motor.

Peter @ Boatsandoutboards4sale ~ askboatsandoutboards4sale@sky.com ~ 07930 421007
Brilliant those tanks look just the ticket, will measure them up to be 100%. Not too bothered about the holes, but do the new fish finders have the same size footprint? Thanks.
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 02:37   #15
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
The light socket looks like an Aqua Signal
I had another look and it has printed on the cap "aqua signal"
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 02:39   #16
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Thanks for the help so far guys. I forgot to add one other photo of where the cables exit the console for the control box. Does there need to be some sort of grommet or boot to stop water?

[/IMG]
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 04:14   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Buckingham
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 75
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 352
Yes - there should be a rubber grommet covering the hole - if you email the photo to sales@ribcraft.co.uk then they should be able to supply the correct fitting fairly quickly - even in rough weather this stops the worst of the water from entering the console.

The "anchor" light (I couldn't see any front white lights) doesn't look very good to me (unless it is just used to illuminate the floor) - it needs to be at least 1m higher than the port/ starboard lights, visible from 360 degrees round (also looks like it will be blocked by the outboard behind) - one solution would be to add an all round white light fixed to a pole on the transom.

You might also want to consider changing the position of the throttle mounting on the console before the hand holding the steering wheel hits the throttle lever whilst steering at slower speeds (forward or reverse) - been there & done that !
__________________
BumbleAbout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 16:53   #18
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by BumbleAbout View Post
Yes - there should be a rubber grommet covering the hole - if you email the photo to sales@ribcraft.co.uk then they should be able to supply the correct fitting fairly quickly - even in rough weather this stops the worst of the water from entering the console.

The "anchor" light (I couldn't see any front white lights) doesn't look very good to me (unless it is just used to illuminate the floor) - it needs to be at least 1m higher than the port/ starboard lights, visible from 360 degrees round (also looks like it will be blocked by the outboard behind) - one solution would be to add an all round white light fixed to a pole on the transom.

You might also want to consider changing the position of the throttle mounting on the console before the hand holding the steering wheel hits the throttle lever whilst steering at slower speeds (forward or reverse) - been there & done that !
Thanks for the info, how would I got about moving the control box, there doesn't seem to be too much free space. I see you have a Ribcraft, I don't suppose you could send me a photo how you have mounted it? I probably could get a pole made up for the white light and mount it high in the socket fitted already.
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 16:56   #19
Member
 
tac123's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
I'll start the ball rolling.

Looks like someone has added that seat pod as an afterthought and failed to get a good colour match. If the grp is bonded down well, then I wouldn't be too worried.

The near sensor is a speed sensor which works by water pressure being forced up a pitot tube. The starboard sensor is a fish finder transducer.
Cheers for the info, the pod is solid but the paint is flaking a little. If I sanded back to decent paint could I paint over it and mask it off better with a color which matched. I presume its flowcoat thats needed?
__________________
tac123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2012, 17:39   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by tac123 View Post
Thanks for the info, how would I got about moving the control box, there doesn't seem to be too much free space.
You can make a spacer to go between the control box & the console to move the box out towards the port side. You'll probably need longer screws, but if you use your imagination & a bit of lateral thinking, it's not difficult
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.