Old 12 September 2004, 03:13   #1

Town: Lubec, Maine USA
Boat name: Stormy I
Make: Airsolid
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard 115 hp
Need for speed vs stability

I have a 20' RIB with 115 Yamaha 4 stroke. My hull weight is 312 kilos + engine + me. I am getting chine walk around 43-45 mph and am wondering if the position of my helm has any impact on stability. It is close to the stern. I am wondering if I moved it forward, what if anything, that would do to the handling and stability. I am running at 3/4 throttle at 40 mph and would love to let it out without winding up in the drink.

I am new to RIBs and have no resources or other RIB owners around (U.S.) other than those used as tenders.

Any comments appreciated. I will try to attach a pic, but not sure if that will help. Regards...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grey.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	78.9 KB
ID:	8138  
Old 12 September 2004, 07:35   #2

Hi, Stormy! It is normally two things you can do, weight up front and/or look at propeller.
A propeller might do very much for the boat.
A racingpropeller might lift the bow to get more speed. Some propellers lift front or rear, and some does not lift at all.

When it comes to weight in front, there have been written many pages about the theme here on rib.net, just search.
They might tell you to try moving everything, console, battery, gastank, put 2 double jockeyseats in front and put people on them, they will have a great and safer ride instead of sitting on the pontons, which by the way is dangerous.
Best regards
Martin
Old 12 September 2004, 08:16   #3

Town: Fareham
Fill some 5 gallon barrels with water and strap them to you deck in various places to simulate different layouts. Take her out and see if there's a difference!

Andy
Old 12 September 2004, 13:51   #4