Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 July 2005, 16:42   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Carterton, Oxon
Boat name: Trigger's Broom
Make: FRib
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 15hp 2/s
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via Yahoo to Noddy
Mounting an Ariel

I have just bought a fixed VHF Radio after ruining my handheld at The Fleet Review. However I need to fix the ariel somewhere and the highest part of the boat is 3/4" stainless steel frame over the front of the console. Is there some sort of bracket I can buy to fix the ariel to this? Or better still is there a cheap way of doing it?
Martyn
__________________

__________________
Live every day as if its your last and one day you will be spot on!!
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2005, 17:00   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Martyn
I would not be without an A frame on a RIB as I have loads on it but have seen growing number of RIBs with just a SS pole at the rear. Do a search on the pictures and see if you can see some. Can't think of a cheaper way of doing it.
__________________

__________________
Neal
Remember It is only possible to live happy-ever-after on a day-to-day basis
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 July 2005, 17:49   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy
... Is there some sort of bracket I can buy to fix the ariel to this?
Martyn, yes there is. They are sold for just this purpose and commonly found on the rails of sailing boats. However, I'm not sure how well it will cope with the bumping a rib will give it without some extra support further up the antenna. The bracket will stand it bit I could see it swivelling around the stainless rail.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 July 2005, 05:28   #4
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Enfield, Co Meath
Boat name: no name
Make: Zodiac Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki 115
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to lc0021 Send a message via MSN to lc0021 Send a message via Skype™ to lc0021
I guess you arent going to be using the radio on high power very much, or arent going to be very far away from other radio users - however a couple of points for consideration:

(a) the higher you can mount the aerial, the better it's range will be

(b) mounting an aerial alongside metal framework, such as railing can reduce its efectiveness, and cause 'shadows' or 'blind spots' in its transmission and reception

(c) a VHF set on high power is several orders of magnitude stronger than a cell phone (up to 25 watts ??). Sounds like the aerial mounted on the frame on the console would put the aerial not too far from the pilots brain... Now I know there's a lot of scientific argument about the effects of radiation on the brain - but I think it's wise to avoid it if possible..

Myabe you'll never use the radio on high power - or never be far away from the other station - but in the absence of an A frame - I'd go for the pole in the transom idea...
__________________
lc0021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 July 2005, 07:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
I have an A-Frame on my rib and although it has a place for an aerial, I needed to be able to either a) remove it or b) tilt it for the storage of the rib.

Whilst you can get things to tilt your aerial they don't work with the rib aerial (a Vtronix raider ) - However a call to the nice people at Communication Aerials (01373-822835) who make the Vtronix Raider Aerial and they gave me the name of the people who sell their special adapter (see photo).

It also allows you to have a complete boat cover fitted without the need for holes in a cover.

Note of caution though, when tilted horizontally it's just at eye level!

Photo attached

Stuart
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ribadapter.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	13198  
__________________
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 July 2005, 14:06   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Lochgelly
Boat name: Purrdy
Make: Northcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 135hp ob
MMSI: 235029446
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
And the name of the company, and the cost of the bracket?
__________________
Nyarla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 July 2005, 14:36   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
Can't remember the name of the company, but it was one of their main dealers, I'll try and dig it out (couldn't find it quickly when i posted earlier).

Cost was something crazy like 16+vat + dely - bit expensive for a piece of plastic! but I guess it was a marine part but it does the job very well.

Stainless bracket was 20 from Marine Superstore in Port Solent (40 in aladdins cave!), althought to be fair a small bus bar was 8.00 in aladdins cave at 25.00 at marine superstore. (very same item).

The only thing about the hinged stainless bracket is that the bolt wasn't long enough to fully lock into the nyloc nut - doesn't seem to make a difference though and of course bolt is not std metric! so maybe difficult to find longer replacement - maybe the reason for the 20 difference

Stuart
__________________
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2005, 03:32   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Carterton, Oxon
Boat name: Trigger's Broom
Make: FRib
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki 15hp 2/s
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 264
Send a message via Yahoo to Noddy
Thanks all for the assistanace - never gave the medical side of things much thought - but have now - Annie can sit that side!
Martyn
__________________
Live every day as if its your last and one day you will be spot on!!
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2005, 05:47   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noddy
- never gave the medical side of things much thought - but have now - Annie can sit that side!

__________________
JW.
jwalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2008, 12:21   #10
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: cork
Boat name: none
Make: HUMBER DESTROYER 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: 140HP sUZUKI
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Bought a Vtronix raider aerial today.
No where really for me to mount the L shaped bracket.
Any ideas or any kind of rail mount?
__________________

__________________
ciaranp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.