Old 24 July 2010, 18:44   #1

Boat name: Mistress
Make: Tornado or Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x 115hp
Mark Laying

Hello,
I've been asked to help out with some Mark Laying at the Sailing Club.
Although I'll be partnered up with someone experienced, i'd still rather not look like a complete novice.
Does anyone have any tips?
Thanks,
Tom
Old 24 July 2010, 19:28   #2
SPR

Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Make sure anchor is attached to mark and rope!

in rough seas pick up mark mid boat, helps to prevent anchoring the boat sea bed!

watch for jelly fish on rope use gloves!

watch for spinning anchors during recovery.

make sure you have enough rope on the mark allow for tide and see condition.

if in high tidal range weigh the rope at the top of mark 4 or 5 feet down to prevent boats catching it. sash weight is good

I remember if it's sailors they are a bit competitive and race officers can be a bit anal when it come to the position if the marks to the wind! some will have you re lay the mark 3 or 4 times.

no profanities on VHF regards what you think of race officer!

S.
Old 24 July 2010, 20:45   #3

Thank you, sir.
at the risk of sounding like a complete idiot, when dropping a mark the other day, I dropped the mark, and then took the anchor upwind?
Could anyone explain this technique to me, and perhaps suggest alternatives?
Tom
Old 24 July 2010, 21:13   #4

Town: Tenby
Boat name: O.C.D.
Make: Highfield
Engine: Honda 100
that is the correct way to lay marks, put the buoy out the back and basically tow it till your inthe right place then let the anchor go. But if your with someone experienced dont worry he will help and teach you the way its done in your sailing club. Everyone does it differently.

One tip is when you are recovering the anchor motor slowly towards it so you dont end up having to pull the boat over the anchor. In any chop that is tiring.