Old 20 October 2013, 14:56   #1

Length: 5m +
Lobster pots...

Wonder if anyone knows the legal status of pots and rope washed up and left for a long period (months) unattended.

I had a lobster fisherman approach me today trying to commandeer my pots and ropes claiming they were his. I collected the rope from a remote beach back in April when it was a tangled mess. The pots were just shells that had sat for 6 + months again on a remote beach; i repaired them using bits from other old pots.

I told him that I'd effectively collected his litter from the beach.

Cheers
Old 20 October 2013, 15:00   #2

Town: Jersey
Boat name: Archangel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: ETec 225
MMSI: 235063789
Well, larceny by finding is a criminal offence of course but I would have thought the burden would be on him to prove ownership.
Old 20 October 2013, 15:08   #3
RIBnet supporter

Town: Accrington
Length: no boat
I am no expert but I would say possesion is 9/10 of the law if he cant prove ownership then bollocks to him he shouldnt have left them on a public beech

Although technically you may be stealing

Old 20 October 2013, 15:14   #4
SPR

Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Engine: 50 HP
golden rule: don't annoy then local fishermen, I would talk to him nicely then give him the pots!

S.
Old 20 October 2013, 15:44   #5
RIBnet Supporter

Length: 4m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
golden rule: don't annoy then local fishermen, I would talk to him nicely then give him the pots!

S.
What that man said!

Did you find the rope and pots from the same remote beach (where he thought they'd be safe from neds?) or did you find them scattered along the coast on the tide line. There's a difference. Fishermen stash pots all over the place - it doesn't mean they're lost or abandoned.
Old 20 October 2013, 15:59   #6