Click Here to Login

Old 16 May 2009, 21:11   #1

Town: Cheltenham
Boat name: It
Make: Bombard
Length: 3m +
Engine: Johnson 8hp 2 stroke
Launching Wheels - Advice needed please

I have a small RIB which I usually launch from a trailer. Unfortunately my local slipway at Upton Marina, Upton on Severn, has started to charge £15 for a trailer launch and £7.50 for a hand launch irrespective of boat size. I am considering fixing launch wheels to the transom to enable a hand launch.

Most of the wheels I have looked at specify max weight limits of around 120kg, I have no idea what my boat and engine would weigh.

I have a Bombard AX500 (3.2m RIB) with a 2 stroke Johnson 8hp, does anyone have any recommendation or advice on transom wheels and whether they would support this weight? I would like to be able to completely detach them after launching as well.

I am very grateful for your help and advice.
Old 16 May 2009, 21:26   #2

Town: Glasgow
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha
this might sound stupid but is there not another slip close by, a slip charging that amount, or any amount for that matter i would not use!! that is ridiculous! maybe use a beach?
Old 17 May 2009, 03:52   #3

Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Get these but shop around - avoid the plastic ones like the plague!!!

Make sure they are cranked to give added clearance.

And they stay attached - swing up out of the way. Worth their weight in gold - well almost.

They are fine for your outfit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wheels_2.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	42604  
Old 17 May 2009, 08:39   #4

Town: Wilmslow
Boat name: Serotonin
Make: Quicksilver
Engine: Mariner 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Gill View Post