Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 07 May 2011, 12:02   #1

Town: Traverse city
Make: Formenti ZAR 53
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Just a few questions on Hypalon...

I am relatively new to RIBs and this is my first so I'm not knowledgable on what is/isn't expected with hypalon.

Around the edges of some of the pieces of hypalon that are glued to the outside of the tubes as logos and such there are a few strings/fibers that can be pulled. Almost like with a string coming out of a shirt. Is this normal?

Some of the seams have split for about a 3mm or 4 mm deep in places. Is it good to re-glue these? How is the best way to go about that because I don't want to use solvent if it will take the paint or ruin the existing seam and it's hard to get in such a small gap with a brush. Would just putting glue in the seam after a rub down with water as best as I can do okay and hold?

Do you guys find that hypalon cleaner will take some of the paint off and smear onto other parts? I'm guessing it's normal however I'm not sure.

Finally, on the top of the tubes near where they connect to the hull there is areas that have any small grey dots. id this where the paint has been rubbed off?

Cheers

James
Old 08 May 2011, 16:44   #2

Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh321 View Post
Around the edges of some of the pieces of hypalon that are glued to the outside of the tubes as logos and such there are a few strings/fibers that can be pulled. Almost like with a string coming out of a shirt. Is this normal?
Perfectly normal. You can cut them off with a small pair of scissors or a razor blade, but leaving them won't hurt anything.

Quote: