Click Here to Login

Old 07 November 2013, 05:57   #1

Town: San Diego
Boat name: Carolyn
Make: JP Marine
Length: under 3m
Engine: 15 hp Evinrude
Is Too Much Power a Bad Thing?

Hey Guys. I am new to boating and recently bought a 2.8 fiberglass RIB. I found a 15 hp Evinrude outboard with a steering bar that I am thinking of purchasing as well. The boat is rated for 10 hp, but when I called the manufacturer (JP Marine, here in San Diego, CA), he said the 2 stroke 10 hp and 15 hp weighed about the same and I should be fine. Now that I have learned a little more, I am beginning to wonder if too much power is a bad thing. I understand that the bow will shoot up if given too much throttle, so I'm hoping to move the steering bar forward to help with weight distribution. I'm 250 lbs so weight might be an issue. Sorry, I don't know what that would be in in stones or rocks or whatever you guys use! Any thoughts/suggestions are appreciated. Thanks, amigos.
Old 07 November 2013, 06:47   #2

Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
The purists will advise you that you will have insurance issues but that is entirely up to you.
This will be balanced by the grin when you're on the plane.....
It's certainly nice to have a bit extra to get going & there's nothing to stop you throttling back plus the engine won't be going at full chat unless you're always in a hurry.
Old 07 November 2013, 07:18   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by paddlers View Post
The purists will advise you that you will have insurance issues but that is entirely up to you.
This will be balanced by the grin when you're on the plane.....
It's certainly nice to have a bit extra to get going & there's nothing to stop you throttling back plus the engine won't be going at full chat unless you're always in a hurry.