Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 September 2006, 10:35   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Solent
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,219
Is this a scam?

Or a bargin:

http://www.boatsandoutboards.com/view/F118746/
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 10:46   #2
Trade member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim M
Tim

If you are unsure then if I was you, seeing they are only in Devon, I would not have it delivered but collect it and pay cash there and then, when you have possession of the engine, and checked out the serial nos.

regards

Richard
__________________
Bungee Trampoline • Surf Simulator • Inflatable Rides
richard@iwantthatatmyevent.co.uk
www.iwantthatatmyevent.co.uk

Mobile: 07885 487777
UKPOWERBOAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 10:54   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Solent
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,219
Good advice Richard. I don't intend to buy it, it just looks like a good price for a lot of power......That is if it's not a scam (the bit about delivery makes me think it might be)
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 11:20   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swindon
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 239050687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,881
I'm certain it's a scam- NADA is the National Automobile Dealers Assoc from America and NADA average refers to condition.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?
Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 11:24   #5
pop
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Paihia
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: indoard yam 420 sti
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 383
mmmmmmmmmmmmm he would not be getting my money
pop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 12:18   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: AVON
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 346
The seller seems that they don't want anyone to see the outboard. Its apparently in devon, but the advert seems very american, i.e 'shipping',

Another dodgy advert:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=280031661228

1. Incorrect Picture
2. Do wetline even make ribs?
3. Yamaha have never made a 7hp outboard!
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 14:23   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Solent
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,219
I think that ebay one is genuine just someone who has made a mistake about the engine.
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 14:47   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: AVON
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 346
I supose this could be a genuine advert, but it just seemed strange they had taken that picture from someone else's advert who was selling the actual boat in the picture.

I thought waveline or wetline only made small sibs?

They've listed it as cash on collection so I supose they must have one for sale just not the one in the picture. If they said paypal only then I certainly wouldn't buy it.
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 14:48   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swindon
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 239050687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,881
and the name-says Waveline on the pic...
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?
Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2006, 14:59   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: AVON
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 346
These ones really annoy me:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/2005-Ranger-Re...QQcmdZViewItem

They are obviously a scam! Earlier in the year My ebay account was hacked onto, and about 20 of these type of adverts were listed though my account, Ebay charges came to over £150!!!

Luckily I contacted ebay quickly and they had the adverts deleted within 24 hours and the charges removed.

The surprising thing was people WERE emailing me!!! I had to keep telling them it was a fraudster advert! Although it was tempting...
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:01.


RIB News Delivered to your Email!

Stay up-to-date with RIB news in your inbox!

unsusbcribe at anytime with one click

Close [X]