Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 03 October 2002, 18:50   #1

Town: Salisbury
Length: 5m +
How many on this site in boating industry ?

How many of you chaps / lasses on this site are actually employed in the marine industry ?

It would be interesting to hear as I get the impression that many of you are instructors, etc but is this part time or full time ?

How many times have I sat in the office playing the boring banker wishing I was out and about messing around on boats or working in Marinas

One day..........

Also John K. do you run this excellent site full time or employed elsewhere ?
Old 03 October 2002, 22:17   #2

Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
Not me I'm afraid. My role is in keeping the nation in thirteen amp sockets!, doorbells and smoke detectors!
Old 03 October 2002, 23:34   #3

Town: SOUTHAMPTON
Boat name: Won't get Fooled Again
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6.5
Engine: Honda 130
I'm an It manager , well mangler really. however I am working towards making a living from the marine industry within the next two years
Old 04 October 2002, 00:15   #4

Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Bumbl
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar diesel
Me neither. Building up my own IT/Electronics company. Teach Sailing and PBing as a 'hobby' and for a (very) small amt. of pocket money here and there - although this seams to be at least once a week this summer!

Daniel
Old 04 October 2002, 07:33   #5
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Re: How many on this site in boating industry ?

Quote:
Originally posted by matiboy
Also John K. do you run this excellent site full time or employed elsewhere ?
Although I spend more time on this site than I should (and there is still al load of stuff I want to do to improve it), it is by no means a paying job. There are a few advertisers who cover the cash costs (thank you!), but there's very little surplus.